The Sanford American No. 2 Pencil

Oh boy, has it been a long time since I’ve posted on this blog! But, work’s busy season is winding down, and now I can actually sit and think for a while! ;o) I’ve mentioned in earlier articles the now-deprecated Sanford American No. 2 pencil, and feel I should at least pay it homage. I found one the other day; it was in my desk drawer. Finding stuff like this is like discovering a treasure. A couple weeks ago my brother found a Tops Docket Gold 3-hole, letter-length notepad; he cheered like a little boy when he saw it! I think I probably cheered at least a little when I saw this pencil.

Why is it that we get so excited about finding such artifacts? I think it’s because we develop a connection to things we used for so many years in the past which are now nearly impossible to find. It wouldn’t be that way if you could run down to Office Depot and pick up a package of them. But these supplies we swore by in the past have usually been put to pasture for good reason. In the case of the Sanford, it was re-marketed as a Paper Mate product. I haven’t tried it under the new brand, but I like to think they corrected at least some of the flaws which existed under the Sanford version (namely, the eraser).

Yet, with all of it’s flaws, I was overjoyed to find it. Not because it’s a superior product; I often find myself still reaching for my Dixon, instead. But it’s nice to have a sharpened Sanford American sitting on my desk again. If for no other reason, just to give me a smile when I look at it. Now, as for my brother’s Tops Docket notepad, I haven’t seen it since. I think he must have enshrined it so the brand would never fully go extinct.

~Jonathan

Leave a Reply

